How big do Chitons get?

How big do Chitons get?

About 5 cm (2 inches) is the maximum length of most chitons, but Cryptochiton stelleri, of the Pacific coast of North America, may grow to about 43 cm. Chitons are very flexible and can fit snugly into rock crevices or curl into a ball when detached.

Are Chitons filter feeders?

Chitons are essential to the environment they are filter feeders they clean the ocean water. These creatures are beautiful to observe in the tidepools. Chiton lenses are made of a mineral called aragonite.

What is the only bivalve mollusk that can actually jet away from attackers?

Scallops, which are bivalves with shells, clap their shells together rapidly to squirt out water in a jerky, almost slow motion form of jet propulsion. The cephalopods use their flexible siphon to rapidly shoot water to jet away for normal swimming, food capture, and to flee danger.

What animals eat mollusk?

Vertebrate predators of snails and slugs include shrews, mice, squirrels, and other small mammals; salamanders, toads and turtles, including the uncommon Blandings Turtle Emydoidea blandingii; and birds, especially ground-foragers such as thrushes, grouse, blackbirds, and wild turkey.

Which group of mollusks has a shell made of eight overlapping plates?

Chitons are untorted, bilaterally symmetrical molluscs with a distinct head and a shell composed of a longitudinal series of eight shingle-like, overlapping plates. The species range from 3 to 430 mm in body length (Salvini-Plawen 1985).

What are the 4 classes of Mollusca?

The four major groups of mollusks (phyla Mollusca) are: 1) chitons; 2) gastropods, including snails, slugs (mostly marine, but some freshwater), and nudibranches.

How many classes of Mollusca exist?

seven classes

What are the three classes of Mollusca?

The major classes of living mollusks include gastropods, bivalves, and cephalopods (Figure below).

What are the six major classes of living molluscs?

Lab 6: Molluscs

  • Taxonomy for Lab 6.
  • Class Scaphopoda – Tooth & tusk shells.
  • Class Polyplacophora – Chitons.
  • Class Gastropoda – Assorted shells.
  • Class Gastropoda – An abalone.
  • Class Gastropoda – A nudibranch (sea slug)
  • Class Gastropoda – A terrestrial slug.
  • Class Bivalvia – Assorted shells.

Is a squid a Mollusca?

Cephalopods are a group of molluscs that include the pearly chambered Nautilus, squids, and the octopus.

Which mollusc has three hearts?